Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

17 Mar

Happy St. Patrick’s Day Everyone!

In celebration of St. Patty’s Day, I baked up a batch of green macarons! I was trying to steer away from making green tea ones since I’d made them many times before. Spontaneously I was trying to come up with another green flavor as fast as I can (in 30 seconds) and oh my goodness…I came up with a weird one. Then I spent another 30 seconds trying to think about what buttercream or ganarche I should make with it. It was not after I started mixing everything that I realized I should have made something more safe like mint or peppermint.

Anyhow, half way through baking, my oven turned off…and I had no idea why. So I waited forever for these to bake as I wonder if that eight minutes of decrease in oven temperature will change anything. Indeed it did a little, it created a little dent on the roof of these cookies. The decrease in heat sunk the partially harden crust a bit. Boo, but at least it was not as noticeable and as bad as it looked.

So what exactly did I make??

Ladies and gentleman, I give you wasabi macaron with ginger buttercream! So exactly how I came up with this? Well, I was trying to think of what green ingredients I have at home, and first thing that came into mine was wasabi powder, and then I figure I have ginger in the fridge. Since I mean if wasabi and ginger go so well together in Japanese cuisine, it should be good in a macaron too right?…Sweet and spicy, just a little kick.

The flavor was quite unique, and it was not bad at all. At first bite, you get that sweetness from the macaron ingredient itself, and then I can taste the ginger hitting my taste buds and lastly, the wasabi as I keep chewing. Oh and did I mention these smells exactly what it is? The wasabi smell was strong and the ginger aroma was divine.

I wore my green jacket day and night today, and I got pinched once after I took the jacket off. I hope you didn’t get pinched like I did!

Leave a Reply

